Thadiyandmol – Solo Trek

After a month and half sitting idle in the house due to some functions and official work, i finally decided to head out to the mountains as I could get only the last weekend of may to go out. I had got a mail from shimoga YHAI regarding a malnad state trek which was for 3 days, and when i called the organizer to check if i could attend on the weekend, I was told, I had to attend all 3 days.

With kiran heading to shimoga and srikanth staying back at home, I decided to head solo to bramhagiri. Upon checking with srikanth, I got to know that i had to arrange for the guide and chances of getting a guide are slim, upon reaching srimangala. When even after many attempts i couldnt reach srimanagala forest dept, i decided to go to thadiyandmol as the route was pretty clear and it was also an easy trek.

Srikanth send me a link which showed the presence of tigers in thadiyandmol range, and I knew i was going to the right place :).

After an uneventful journey i reached virajept at 6.15 AM on sat morning. After finishing my morning abulations, I headed to the bus stop and after a short wait I boarded the bus to kakabbe, which is the starting point of the trek which took about 40 min.

Start of the trek

I began the trek at 7.40, and began the steady climb, towards nalknad palace. Since the road towards the palace was winding and was long, I took a shortcut through a couple of fields and reached the palace shortly, as it was closed, i decided to head to the peak and then visit the palace when coming back. I met a couple of people coming down and asked them about the tiger. They confirmed that tigers are present in these parts of the woods, however it cant be spotted easily.  Now that I knew there would no danger, I proceeded further.

Nalknad Palace


Taking few breaks, i continued the climb, and after a short while, I heard some rumbling in the trees, and I paused for a moment, to hear. I hadnt seen any animals till then and I wasnt sure what the sound was. I decided to continue and turn back in case things get a creepier. Thankfully no 4 legged animal emerged and I continued my ascent.

With beautiful peaks emerging at every turn and the scenary becoming more spectacular i continued my ascent. I soon reached the flat land, where people normally camp. After a late breakfast i continued the trek. The climb became a little steep in some places and my lack of fitness was apparently showing. With a few longer breaks, i reached the forest and managed to reach the peak in a little over 3 hrs.

Lush green Peaks

Spending some time on the peak, i began my descent.  After crossing the forest , i took a small nap before resuming my descent.

Greenary all around

Filling up my bottle at a house, i reached nalknad palace. While taking rest at one of the shops, i asked the owner regarding the apparant tarring of roads, and he told me that there are a few people living close to the peak. As per the shop owner, commuting for these people is becoming an issue and they are planning to have road constructed, which enables them to commute easily.

Inside Nalknad Palace

[Note: The path birfucates into two, and the flat path leads to the houses of the people. If you take the road going up, it goes to the peak]

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Subbu
Name: Subbu Interests : Trekking,travelling Hobbies: Photography

2 Responses to Thadiyandmol – Solo Trek

  1. Sumit says:

    Good one 🙂 Planning for it. Any suggestions/advice??

    • Subbu says:

      Hi Sumit, the route is pretty straight forward just get down at kakkabe and follow the route to the top. Make sure u have enough water and food with u when climbing. As its rainy season now, u will find streams on the way to fill up water

Leave a Reply

