Roadtrip day 4: Karkala/Moodbidri n Ride to Madikeri

With the kudremukh ride completed, I decided to take today’s ride a little easy. Packed up and left for karkala at 8.30 in the morning. An hour of riding, took me karkala and to the base of chamukta basadi.
Karkala is another place which has a statue of bhabubali. It is not as high as the one present in sravanabelagola, however, this also makes for a nice tourist spot

Bahubali@ karkala

The place was closed, and with nothing to do there, I moved to moodbidri, which has the famous 1000 pillar temple.

Moodabidri – 1000 pillar temple

Photography is permitted inside the sanctum storum, however upon payment of 100 Rs one can take photos from outside. The money collected is used for the renovation of the temple.

I got the receipt which allowed me to take photos of the temple from the outside.  The temple is well maintained.

The 1000 pillar temple

Offering my prayers at the temple, i asked for directions to go to puttur. I was told to go to bantwal and ask for directions. Driving in the ghats was fun as usual. Once the ghat got over, the actual pain of driving began. With huge potholes present everywhere, it was a very tiresome effort to keep driving. Taking frequent breaks i kept moving forward. Finally at 11.30 I reached puttur.

The ghat from puttur to madikeri is in a even horrible condition. With heavy vechiles plying in those roads, huge potholes have appeared, throughout the ghat and riding was a real pain. It took almost 2 hrs to reach suliya and I immediately went to the nearest hotel for lunch.

The ride continued after madikeri, however the road condition had not improved. A sudden downpour saw me take shelter at a local store. The shower allowed me to cool my aching back and ass for a while, as driving on those pathetic roads were becoming a real problem. Fortunately the rain didnt last long and I continued my journey

I came across an unknown waterfall on the way and the scenary had also improved. I could consider this as a consolation for the bad roads

Unknown Waterfall

Landscape at puttur ghat

With 5 kms to go to madikeri town, it was time for another break and a cuppa. Finally at 6.30 in the evening I reached madikeri. After checking into the nearest available lodge, i took a long rest, before heading to a hotel for dinner and it was nap time to give rest to my battered body

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Snaps can be found here

About Subbu
Name: Subbu Interests : Trekking,travelling Hobbies: Photography

3 Responses to Roadtrip day 4: Karkala/Moodbidri n Ride to Madikeri

  1. Sanath says:

    I am planning to travel by this karkala moodbidri bantwal mani puttur sulys madikeri hunsur route soon. according to you blog the route from bantwal onwards is in pathetic conditions. I heard from another source that the puttur sulya madikeri route has been relaid and is in good condition. i am assuming you went this year on Nov 6th. i am planning to drive by Ritz car. how long do you think it’ll take from karkala to hunsur?

  2. subbuz1 says:

    Sanath,

    The puttur sulya madikeri road is also in a bad state. Since u r travelling in a RItz it should take u about 2-3 hrs to cover the stretch and another hour or two to reach moodbidri

  3. Sanath says:

    Thanx man

Leave a Reply

