Roadtrip Day 5: Waterfalls Galore

I was under the assumption that I would have a smooth ride, from madikeri to irrupu falls as I thought the roads would be fine.

Early morning I went to abbi falls which is just 8 kms from the town. As usual I didnt want to experience crowd problem at the falls, so I decided to go early.

Due to the recent rains, there was enough water in the falls, and with no one present I could go about with my photoshoot without worrying about the crowd

Abbi Falls

A couple of tourists came along and soon a large crowd arrived. I packed me cam, and was back at the lodge. Soon, I packed my stuff and proceeded to virajpet. Today would be another day where I had to encounter bad roads, and this time it was all the way till peryipatna.

Reaching virajpet, I asked for directions for gonikoppa and went ahead. The roads looked like it had not been relaid in ages. Taking more breaks than driving, I reached gonikoppa after a few hrs. A short break and I was heading to ponanpet. It took a long time to reach ponanmpet. Next was srimangala, and soon I was at the intersection of nagarhole and irrupu falls.

Soon I reached irrupu falls, keeping my luggage in the registration counter, i headed to the falls. The falls looked majestic with water flowing in full force.

There were very few tourists, and I had ample time to play with various exposure settings in my cam to get the optimal shot

Irrupu Falls

I spent some time relaxing at the falls, while giving my tired body some rest.  Spending an hour at the falls, I headed back to the counter to collect my luggage and head to my final destination for the day – Mysore. I thought the ride would be incomplete without riding through the Nagarhole National park, as I would cover beaches, forests, ghats.

Suprise waited for me at the entrance of nagarhole NP. Two and Three wheelers werent permitted inside the park, which I wasnt aware. My attempts to negotiate with the officials were in vain, and they told me to go back to gonikoppa and then go to mysore.

The next few hours would test my patience to the max as I had to ride through some of the worst roads. I was relieved to reach the highway and soon cruising along some good roads at last.  One of the locals told me that the hunsur road, was also in a bad state and I could go to mysore via periyapatna. Bad roads again, welcomed me in periyapatna, and by the time I reached the Mysore-Bantwal Highway it was 4.30 in the evening. A short stop for some snacks and it was a non stop ride to mysore.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Snaps can be found here

About Subbu
Name: Subbu Interests : Trekking,travelling Hobbies: Photography

Leave a Reply

