Matheran

100kms from mumbai lies a beautiful and unspoilt hillstation called matheran.  This is a popular hill station with the localities and many people visit it. With my work getting extended for another week, I could get one sunday, which i decided to make use of by going to matheran.

Matheran is a hillstation which contains a series of view points offering a panaromic view of the sahyadris. Matheran can be reached by train or by road. There are numerous trains plying between mumbai to neral which is the last stop for matheran.

I reached neral by 9.30 after switching trains at dadar. One can travel to matheran from neral on a toy train which takes about 2 hrs to reach the top. Since there was a huge rush for the toy train,

Early Morning at Matheran

I took a shared cab, to the top

Winding roads

The ride took me about half hour and I was at the gates of matheran. After buying the tickets I went ahead to explore the place.

Walking along the tracks, I could see some amazing scenary along the way.

Scenary @ Matheran

There were quite a few viewpoints which I could cover till evening. There are boards with directions along with the name of the viewpoint.

One of the first viewpoint I visited was called Kandala Point, which offered me a good view of the sahyadri range

Kandala Point

Spending some time there I moved ahead to see the other view points. The view of the sahyadris got better from each view point

Views from other view points

My next point of attraction was a huge lake called chorlette lake , which was also a popular attraction. There were a couple of shops there where i satisfy my hunger pangs, before moving ahead. The lake sees a huge crowds as it is the only water body present in the hillstation

Chorlette Lake

Taking some snaps i went to another viewpoint from where we could get a clear view of the valley . I had a small nap there

Valley view

Evening was spent at sunset point before making my way back to neral to take the return train back to the hotel

Sunset @ matheran

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Snaps can be found here

About Subbu
Name: Subbu Interests : Trekking,travelling Hobbies: Photography

Leave a Reply

